Working in Publisher with different users

Product: FlippingBook Publisher

If you buy additional workstations for FlippingBook Publisher Professional or Business, the software can be used by multiple users from different machines. The number of users and machines is limited by the number of workstations for your license.

There are two ways your team can work in FlippingBook Publisher:

  1. Sharing one user account - If you give your credentials to your team members, you and your colleagues can simultaneously use the software on different machines under the same user account. This is the easiest way to collaborate, especially when you work with FlippingBook Cloud. Your team members will share the same set of publications on the cloud.
  2. Using different user accounts - You can create additional accounts (sub-users) for your team members, so everyone has their own login and password. Each team member can create their own set of publications on FlippingBook Cloud (If you don’t use FlippingBook Cloud, then there is no noticeable difference whether you use different accounts or share one account).

The first option is very easy and requires no additional set-up. The second option requires a bit more work, and we will tell you all about it in this article:

 

When to create additional user accounts (sub-users)?

When you buy a license, your account is called the superuser. If you buy additional workstations, then you as a superuser can create sub-users.

The roles of superuser and sub-users can be described briefly as follows:

  1. Only the superuser can create or remove sub-users. Sub-users cannot create additional users.
  2. Only the superuser can buy/renew additional services (e.g. Support, Updates, and Unlimited Cloud usage) and see your Billing History.
  3. All users can create their own flipbooks on Cloud. The superuser can access sub-users' Cloud space (in Business Edition only) and can manage their publications. Sub-users cannot access superuser's and other sub-users' Cloud space.
  4. All users can share publications with each other in the software, using the Teamwork feature (available in Business Edition only!). This way, users can collaborate on the same publication.

So whether or not to use sub-users depends on your circumstances. It is advisable if:

  1. You want to restrict the ability to renew the license to a single person.
  2. Your corporate policy requires every user to log in with their own credentials in all programs
  3. You are working with an external party and you are providing temporary access to FlippingBook Publisher.

If none of the above applies, then we suggest using shared credentials. It is simpler to set up, and there is less room for confusion afterwards. If you only want to restrict the ability to renew the license to a single person, then you could also consider a mixed approach: you create a single sub-user, and all users log in to the software with this account. You keep the superuser account to log in to our site for renewals.

Note!  It’s not possible to change sub-users to superuser and vice versa.

 

How to add/remove additional user accounts (sub-users)?

Adding and removing sub-users is very straightforward. Simply sign in to https://flippingbook.com/account/software/teamwork with the superuser credentials.

To add a user, type their email address in the text box and click Add:

You will then see a pop-up where you can enter additional data and set a password:

When you click on Create user, we generate a new user in our database and send an email to that user with the download link. It is possible that no pop-up appears. In that case, a user is already present in our database (for example, if the user has created a trial account with us before). But we send an email to that address with the download link anyway.

To remove a user, simply click on the Remove link. If the user had publications on FlippingBook Cloud, their publications will be moved to your superuser account.

Note!  The amount of sub-users that you can create is limited by the number of additional workstations for your license!

 

How can others see my project and work with it?

As already noted, sub-users by default can NOT see superuser's and each others’ projects in the FlippingBook Cloud Manager. Every user has their own set of projects, that only they can edit, update and delete.

If you want other users to be able to edit and update your projects, then you can share these projects with them using the Teamwork option in FlippingBook Publisher Business edition.

Note!  This feature is only available in the Business Edition of FlippingBook Publisher. In the Professional edition, users cannot share projects. Every user has their own set of projects, that only they can edit and delete!

To give access to your flipbooks to your coworkers, follow the steps below:

  1. Open FlippingBook Publisher
  2. Click on the FlippingBook Cloud tab to open the FlippingBook Cloud Manager. If you have an open project, you can click on the FlippingBook Cloud button on the top toolbar instead.
  3. Select one or more publications in FlippingBook Cloud Manager.
  4. Сlick on Teamwork in the menu:

  5. In a new window, you will be asked to indicate which users you’d like to share your publication(s) with.
  6. Choose the users that you want to add and click on the button Save:

Next time your coworker checks the Teamwork folder on their FlippingBook Cloud Manager, the publication will be there!

 

Accessing the Cloud space of additional users (sub-users)

As a superuser, you can access the Cloud space of additional users and manage their publications. Here is how you can do it:

  1. Open FlippingBook Publisher
  2. Click on the FlippingBook Cloud tab to open the FlippingBook Cloud Manager. If you have an open project, you can click on the FlippingBook Cloud button on the top toolbar instead.
  3. Click on My Account and choose the option to Log in to FlippingBook Cloud under account of another user:

When you are logged in under a sub-user account, you can perform all the operations that you can perform under your own account (e.g. delete, rename the publication, change the URL or protection settings). The only limitation is that you cannot create or remove collections for a sub-user.

 

Next steps

Do you want to purchase some more workstations? Leave us a message, and we will generate a custom price quote for you.

Related Articles

Was this article helpful?
drift chat